The Southern Highlands Conference on Heterocyclic Chemistry 
31 August – 2 September 2014


Lew Mander Symposium
 2 – 3 September 2014   

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

 This annual residential conference has become a feature of the heterocyclic calendar over the past 24 years. It has been held at one of a select few venues in the beautiful Southern Highlands of New South Wales, south-west of Sydney. In 2014 the meeting will be held in conjunction with the Lew Mander 75th Birthday Symposium (2 – 3 September 2014) at Gibraltar Hotel, Bowral, a modern, beautifully appointed hotel resort offering the familiar high standard of accommodation and food. The Gibraltar also provides an ideal setting, with Harvey's Bar, its adjacent golf course (with 9 holes of golf offered at discount rates with registration), and in house spa, for lively scientific discussion and exchange.

 Conference Invited Speakers

The 2014 Conference President, Professor Mick Sherburn, is responsible for setting the scientific program, which will comprise 12 invited speakers, including two senior postgraduate student presentations, each with an ample period for discussion. In addition, there will be a poster session at which contributed papers will be individually presented and later discussed.

Invited speakers include early career scientists and internationally renowned chemists from industry and academia. Their lecture topics will include all aspects of heterocyclic chemistry, from synthesis to the chemistry of natural and un-natural materials, reactive intermediates, medicinal and biological chemistry, spectroscopy and physicochemical properties.

Invited Speakers
Dr Jonathan George (University of Adelaide)
Dr T. Vinh Nguyen (Curtin University)
Professor Louis Barriault (University of Ottawa, Canada)
Professor Mary Garson (University of Queensland)
Dr Andrew Lawrence (University of Edinburgh, Scotland)
Associate Professor Richard Payne (University of Sydney)
Associate Professor Regan Thomson (Northwestern University, USA)
Dr David Lupton (Monash University)
Professor Leo Radom (University of Sydney)
Associate Professor Jonathan Morris (University of New South Wales)

Postgraduate Student Award Talks
Ms Siu Min (Margaret) Tan (Australian National University)
Mr Ping Lan (Australian National University)

 Call for Papers

Your participation in this outstanding conference is invited this year.  Together with the Conference President, we invite as many conference poster presentations as possible in any field of heterocyclic chemistry. The number of delegates will however be limited to 50, so please register early. Completed registration forms and payment must be received by 16 June 2014.

I look forward to your participation in the 2014 Conference. Please complete the Registration Form (which also serves as a Tax Invoice) for either or both meetings, and watch the website for more details.

Roger Read

Conference Organising Secretary
School of Chemistry,
University of New South Wales

UNSW Sydney NSW 2052

Tel: 61-2-9385 4457
Fax: 61-2-9385 6040