Biosensors and Biodevices Group - Collaborators

UNSW Collaborators

Prof. Katharina Gaus (Centre for Vascular Research)

Katharina is a cell biologist with a sensor past with whom we collaborate on developing surfaces for cell biology as part of a program in relating surface presentations of adhesive ligands to cell structure and function. Katharina and Justin also collaborate on modeling biological processes. More details on Katharina's research are available at the Centre for Vascular Research website.

Dr Peter Reece (Physics)

A collaboration which combines the skills of the Physicists in the fabrication of photonic crystals using porous silicon with our skills in modifying surfaces at a molecular level to make biorecognition interfaces. More details Peter's research are on the Optoelectronics page.

Professor Maria Kavallaris (Children's Cancer Institute of Australia and Australian Centre for NanoMedicine)

Maria and Justin are co-directors of the Australian Centre for NanoMedicine and also collaborate on microRNA detection and the 3D printing of cell cultures. More details about Prof. Kavallaris' research are available on her group web pages.

Professor Rose Amal (Chemical Science and Engineering)

Rose and Justin collaborate on developing sensors which use the unique suite of nanoparticles developed in the Centre for Functional Nanomaterials. Our role is to provide expertise in modifying the particles with the appropriate biological recognition molecules and the transduction of the biorecognition event. More details of Rose's research are available at the Particles and Catalysis web site.

Professor Brynn Hibbert (Chemistry)

Brynn and us have had a long association since 1997 when Justin returned to Australia as a Vice-Chancellors Post-Doctoral Research Fellow. Our collaborative activities extend over a number of electrochemical projects with the two groups have combined group meetings for many years. Collaborative projects include the ARC funded projects on the modification of carbon electrodes with novel monolayers for sensing applications and previous funding on nanostructuring electrodes using liquid crystals, on carbon nanotube modified electrodes and a project on peptide modified electrodes for detecting metal ions. For more about Brynn and his research see Brynn's group page.

Professor Michael Paddon-Row (Chemistry)

Another long standing collaboration into electron transfer through monolayer systems to gain fundamental knowledge of both molecular electronics and bioelectronics. We currently share two post-docs and a Ph.D. student. More details about Michael's research are on his staff page.

Dr. Jason Harper (Chemistry)

Jason brings a lot of organic chemistry expertise to the group and together we work on switchable surfaces. Jason has considerable expertise in ionic liquids. More details on Jason's research are on his staff page.

Dr. Mike Manefield (Centre for Marine Biofouling)

Mike is a microbiologist who has a strong emphasis on bioremediation and the aggregation of microorganisms. Mike leads an ARC Linkage project on bioremediation which we contribute to. Futher details of Mike's research are available on his website.

External Collaborators

Professor Tom Davis (Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Science)

Tom was one of the founding co-directors of the Australian Centre for NanoMedicine and collaborates with us on 3D printing of cells and on responsive polymer systems. For more details see Tom's Profile at MIPS

Professor Barbara Messerle (Macquarie University)

Barbara and Justin collaborate on the synthesis of new redox active molecules for electrochemical biosensors as well as modified carbon nanotube surfaces for catalysis. More details about Prof. Messerle's research are available on her group web pages.

Professor Joe Shapter (Flinders University)

Joe's main interest is in the area of surface science. In particular, the use of scanning tunneling microscopy (STM) to examine surfaces and surface processes on an atomic level. He has worked with us on the preparation of atomically flat gold surfaces, self-assembled monolayers and nanotube modified surfaces. For more details see Joe's web page.

Professor Nongjian Tao (Arizona State University)

With Nongjian Tao, we have conducted single molecule conductivity measurements using the STM break junction technique that Nongjian’s team has developed. For more information see Nongjian's web page.

A/Prof. Shen Ye (Hokkaido University)

Shen works with us on the spectroscopic characterisation of self-assembled monolayer modified surfaces using his expertise in Sum Frequency Generation spectroscopy and surface IR. See Shen Ye's web page for more about his work.