HG Smith Memorial Medal for Martina Stenzel

Posted 28 November 2017

Scientia Professor Martina Stenzel was awarded the HG Smith Memorial Medal for her significant contribution to the field of polymer chemistry at the Royal Australian Chemical Institute’s (RACI) annual awards evening held 24 November 2017. She is only the second woman to ever receive this award since it was established in 1929. This is RACI’s premier award, and was based on the work that Professor Stenzel had published in the preceding ten years. 

Past recipients of the HG Smith Memorial Medal include UNSW Chemistry alumni, current research staff, and other eminent Australian researchers. Professor David Black, Emeritus Professor Michael Paddon-Row, and Scientia Professor Justin Gooding are among the past recipients.

Professor Stenzel is the current Chair of the National Committee for Chemistry in the Australian Academy of Science, the Co-Director of the Centre for Advanced Macromolecular Design at UNSW, and our school’s incoming Director of Research, and outgoing Postgraduate Coordinator.

[Pictured: Martina with other RACI award winners from NSW]

View More Chemistry News