Chemistry Prize Giving 2017

Posted 3 May 2017

Last night, UNSW Chemistry acknowledged and celebrated our top-performing students of 2016 at our annual Prize Giving event.

All up 16 undergraduate students and three postgraduate students were honoured with prizes, medals or scholarships. Several students received multiple honours. Eric Foley took home four awards for his achievements in level 3 Chemistry.

Janelle Sheen of Sydney Girls High School – who is now studying chemistry in year 11 – was awarded the School of Chemistry Prize for Excellence and Enthusiasm in Chemistry.

Students attended the prize giving ceremony with their families, along with the Head of School, Professor Scott Kable; school staff; representatives for prize donors; our guest speaker, Ms Natalie Chapman; and the UNSW Dean of Science, Professor Emma Johnston.

Professor Johnston, who assumed her new role as Dean the day before, presented awards to the students, and emphasised that chemistry is a vital part of all science disciplines, including her own field of Marine Ecology.

Ms Chapman of gemaker, also talked of the value of a chemistry degree. She shared her experiences of transitioning from her training as a scientist to becoming a commercialisation expert for science and technology, and now running her own company.

Representing our generous donors, Mrs Rusheen Craig presented the Don Craig Prize, Dr Victor Wong presented the RACI prize, and our own Professor David Black presented the Black scholarship.

The Prize Giving ceremony is a treasured school event to show how proud we are of our bright young students.

Click here to see the full list of awards.

[Group photo courtesy of Sveto Videnovic]